College Development Committee (CDC)

MAHARASHTRA ACT No. VI OF 2017 (First published, after having received the assent of the Governor in the “Maharashtra Government Gazette”, on the 11th January 2017). An Act to provide for academic autonomy and excellence, adequate representation through democratic process, transformation, strengthening and regulating higher education and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.

(13) "College Development Committee" means the College Development Committee constituted under section 97 of this Act;

Section 97

  • There shall be a separate College Development Committee for every affiliated, autonomous, empowered autonomous college or recognized institution, consisting of the following members, namely:-
    • Chairperson of the management or his nominee ex-officio Chairperson;
    • Secretary the management or his nominee;
    • one head of department, to be nominated by the principal or the head of the institution;
    • three teachers in the college or recognized institution, elected by the full-time amongst themselves out of whom atleast one shall be woman;
    • one non-teaching employee, elected by regular non-teaching staff from amongst themselves
    • four local members, nominated by the management in consultation with the principal, from the fields of education, industry, research and social service of whom at least one shall be alumnus;
    • Co-ordinator, Internal Quality Assurance Committee of the college;
    • President and Secretary of the College Students' Council;
    • Principal of the college or head of the institution - Member - Secretary.
  • The College Development Committee shall meet at least four times in a year.
  • Elected and Nominated members shall have a term of five years from the date of election or nomination. If any vacancy occurs in the office of such member, the vacancy shall be filled within three months by the Principal and the member so appointed shall hold office for the residual term for which the earlier member shall have held the office if the vacancy had not occurred.
  • The College Development Committee shall,-
    • prepare an overall comprehensive development plan of the college regarding academic, administrative and infrastructural growth, and enable college to foster excellence in curricular, co-curricular and extra-curricular activities;
    • decide about the overall teaching programmes or annual calendar of the college;
    • recommend to the management about introducing new academic courses and the creation of additional teaching and administrative posts;
    • take review of the self-financing courses in the college, if any, and make recommendations for their improvement;
    • make specific recommendations to the management to encourage and strengthen research culture, consultancy and extension activities in the college;
    • make specific recommendations to the management to foster academic collaborations to strengthen teaching and research;
    • make specific recommendations to the management to encourage the use of information and communication technology in teaching and learning process ;
    • make specific recommendations regarding the improvement in teaching and suitable training programmes for the employees of the college ;
    • prepare the annual financial estimates (budget) and financial statements of the college or institution and recommend the same to the management for approval ;
    • formulate proposals of new expenditure not provided for in the annual financial estimates (budget) ;.0
    • make recommendations regarding the students' and employees' welfare activities in the college or institution ;
    • discuss the reports of the Internal Quality Assurance Committee and make suitable recommendations ;
    • frame suitable admissions procedure for different programmes by following the statutory norms ;
    • plan major annual events in the college, such as annual day, sports events, cultural events, etc. ;
    • recommend the administration about appropriate steps to be taken regarding the discipline, safety and security issues of the college or institution;
    • consider and make appropriate recommendations on inspection reports, local inquiry reports, audit report, report of National Assessment and Accreditation Council, etc.;
    • recommend the distribution of different prizes, medals and awards to the students.
    • prepare the annual report on the work done by committee for the year ending on the 30th June and submit the same to the management of such college and the university;
    • perform such other duties and exercise such other powers as may be entrusted by the management and the university.

Based on the guidelines, the composition of the College Development Committee for the term July 2017 to July 2022 is as follows –

Sr.No. Name of the member CDC Designation
1. Dr. Bharat Pathak
Hon. Secretary - SMES
Management Member
2. Dr. Shilpa Charankar
Executive Secretary - SMES
3. Dr. Archana Patki
IC Principal
4. Dr. Nina Roy Choudhury
Principal, S.I.E.S College of Commerce and Economics, Mumba
5. Dr. Priya Agrawal,
Bombay Stock Exchange
6. Dr. Avaneesh Bhatt
Department of English
Member, IQAC Coordinator
7. Mrs. Renuka Prajapati,
Department of Economics
Member, HOD Economics
8. Dr. Seema Gosher,
Department of Accountancy
Member, Convenor, Students’ Council
9. Dr Rekha Shelar,
Department of Sociology
Member, Faculty Representatives
10. Dr. Shital Mandhare
Department of PG Commerce
11. Mr. Dattatray Gawade,
Department of Accountancy, Finance and Insurance
12. Mrs. Neeta Naik,
Senior Clerk
Member, Non-Teaching Staff Representative
13. Ms. Sakshi Sachdev,
MA I Psychology
Member, Student Representatives
14. Ms. Nidhi Katkar,
15. Ms. Kumund Shankar Desai,
SYBA (Sociology)