SEVA MANDAL EDUCATION SOCIETY'S SMT. MANIBEN M. P. SHAH WOMEN'S COLLEGE OF ARTS & COMMERCE (Autonomous under S.N.D.T. Women's University) NAAC Re-accredited UGC Status: College with Potential for Excellence BEST COLLEGE AWARD 2017-18: Adjudged by S.N.D.T. Women's University 338, R.A. Kidwai Road, Matunga, Mumbai – 400019 As per Maharashtra State University Act (2016) Uniform Statute No: 3 of 2019

Minutes of the meeting of Academic Council held on 21 July, 2020at 12:00 noon, through Google Meet, when the following members were present:

Sr. No.	Name of the Member	A.C. Designation
1.	Dr. Leena Raje	Chairperson
2.	Dr. Bharat Pathak	Management Representative
3.	Prof. Anuradha Sovani	V.C SNDTWU Nominee
4.	Prof. Ruby Ojha	V.C SNDTWU Nominee
5.	Prof. Preeti Verma	V.C SNDTWU Nominee
6.	Prof. Nasreen Rustomfram	Academicians
7.	Prof. Kinnary Thakkar	Academicians
8.	Dr. Kiran Mangaokar	Academicians
9.	Dr. Vibhuti Patel	Academicians
10.	Dr. Anupama Nerurkar	Academicians
11.	Mrs Archana Patki	HoD, Psychology
12.	Mrs. Renuka Prajapati	HoD, Economics
13.	Dr. Kiran Singh	HoD, Hindi
14.	Dr. Bhavana Dubey	HoD, Sociology
15.	Dr. Shobha Dedhia	HoD, Commerce
16.	Dr. Avaneesh Bhatt	HoD, English
17.	Mrs. Madhavi Sathe	HoD, Nutrition and Meal Management
18.	Mr. Vasant Pansare	HoD, Marathi

19.	Ms. Darshana Buch	HoD, Foundation Course
20.	Dr. Sarita Kasaralkar	HoD, Child Development
21.	Dr. Seema Shah	HoD, Accountancy
22.	Dr. Shubhangi Kulkarni	Coordinator MCom
23.	Ms Reshma Murali	Coordinator MA- Psychology
24.	Ms Hemlata Kumar	Coordinator BMS
25.	Ms Shagufta Memon	Coordinator BA- Mass Media
26.	Mr. Dattatrey Gawade	Coordinator BCom- AFI
27.	Dr. Usha Mishra	Faculty Representative
28.	Ms Shanti Seshadri	Faculty Representative
29	Ms. Vaishnavi Kamat	Faculty Representative
30.	Ms. Rashmi Shetye-Tupe	Faculty Representative
31.	Dr. Daksha Dave	Invitee
32.	Ms Gouri Mohan	Member Secretary

The Chairperson, Dr. Leena Raje officially welcomed all members for the Academic Council meeting, conducted online due to COVID-19 pandemic. The chair also welcomed 3 new members in the capacity of HOD Self-Finance Degree Programmesand 2 Teacher Representatives on the Academic Council.

Agenda Item I:

The minutes of the meeting held on December 17, 2019 were read and confirmed.

Agenda Item II:

- The Chairperson, Dr. Leena Raje mentioned that all departments could not meet their respective Board of Studies (BoS) for syllabi revision, because of the pandemic and hence would be continuing with the current Semester-III syllabi.
- The departments presented the Action-Taken-Report based on the suggestions given by the Academic Council in its previous meeting. The Council noted and approved the compliance reports of all departments.
- The Semester-III syllabi for **Commerce** BCom UGC Vocational and M. Com (Marketing Specialization), **Management Studies** and **English** Sem II and Additional Course in Literary Appreciation for implementation in Sem IV; were presented to the Academic Council for consideration of the modifications. After discussing elaborately

with the respective progamme heads, the Council approved the changes made in the syllabi and remarked that the changes were appropriate and in keeping with the times.

Agenda Item III:

- The syllabi for Economics- Sem III and SemI (All Economics) and MA-Mass Media (Semester-I) were presented. The Academic Council appreciated the course content for both with minor changes as given below and the courses were approved unanimously by the Academic Council for implementation from June 2020.
 - Subject-wise Suggestions

1. Economics:

- The department was asked to change nomenclature of the units from Chapter to Module.
- > To include Industry versions from 1.0 to 4.0 in details to ensure better understanding.
- The Academic Council remarked that there is a comprehensive coverage of concepts in the syllabi.

2. Mass Media:

- Campaign Design and Accounts Management in the same unit makes it heavy. Accounts Management should be separate; the department can reconsider the content as a Bridge Course.
- The social media platforms, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, are all in one module, it makes the module heavy. The department was asked to reconsider the same and break it in to separate modules.

Agenda Item IV:

• Short-Term, Add-on and CBCS courses were presented for approval:

The following points were discussed:

➢ Women and Law:

The departments Commerce and Foundation Courses were asked to incorporate the practical implementation of the laws, that is, how every law can be used in support of women and how to deal with the justice system.

Financial Literacy and Inclusion:

The department of Economics was asked to include Aatmanirbhar Bharat Yojana, Garib Kalyan Yojana, Skill India, Stand-up India, Start-up India and Make in India, in the final module of the course.

Following courses were approved without modifications:

- > Graphic Designing
- Video Editing and Recording
- Digital Marketing
- Advanced Excel
- Advanced Tally with GST

Agenda Item V:

- The experts on the Academic Council appreciated and congratulated the efforts of all departments.
- The Academic Council suggested that the entire syllabi should be circulated to all external members in advance and during the meeting the departments can only highlight the changes. This would facilitate a faster transaction of the meeting agenda.
- Dr. Leena Raje apprised the Academic Council of the following:
 - ➤ The suggestion of a 50:50 evaluation pattern for professional courses is being considered. All Masters level courses already follow the said pattern.
 - The departments are in the process of developing short-term courses; the courses may not be implemented as CBCS but can be considered as additional credits. The departments are also working on e-content development.
 - The course in Geriatric Care in collaboration with TISS did not materialize as it was very elaborate for students. But we are trying to work out a concise version with different NGO's. The finalized course will be presented to the Academic Council for suggestions.

The meeting adjourned with the Member Secretary proposing the vote of thanks.